266. A Rhyming Poem About Rhyming Poems

_dancer_in_the_dark_III__by_Rijama

I’ve heard rhyme is obsolete,

And that it is a bore.

Poems in rhyme are tedious;

And furthermore they fuss,

“The quality: poor”.

Those pretentious elitists.

I don’t care what they say.

Rhyming is just what I do;

And I will continue to,

Write them out this way.

I will continue to write,

Though they will not publish.

They can say it’s pathetic.

Yes, in the head I’m thick.

Do as you so wish.

Why is the rhyme more important,

Than what my poems express?

The depth of what I’m saying?

Hear what I’m conveying;

Perceive and possess!

Rhyme is not some silly skill;

It is a song to me.

I hear it inside beating….beating….

Like my life-force greeting….through words…singing,

And I’m free!

K.Aldaya, 4/6/14

Picture: “Dancer in the Dark III” by Rijama on Deviant Art; http://rijama.deviantart.com/art/dancer-in-the-dark-III-88379195

4 thoughts on “266. A Rhyming Poem About Rhyming Poems

  1. This is a particularly appealing poem with strength in message and beauty in concept. It is the conviction of the new-found poet who questions the power of rhyme only to answer in its defense. The revelation is presented articulately and methodically to convey its central message via style and technique. It’s own rhyming structure supports the defense of rhyme. It’s witty in support of the sanctity of art.

Leave a Reply

