253. Why?

jase_dark_basement

I oft’ wonder why you chose me?

Why did you only choose to play,

Your sick sadist game with me?

Why was this my price to pay?

There were other easy targets;

Opportunities to relish.

Did you throw out many nets,

To catch the best trophy fish?

Oh, did you carefully choose me,

Because of who I am or was?

Was it personality?

Visual? Or just because?

Was it foul luck or destiny?

That I so young became your toy?

I born strange in some degree,

That in hurting gave more joy?

Was it fun finding a captive?

Destroying and haunting their dreams?

So every day they’d have to live,

Swimming in echoing-screams?

Did you know you would find a home,

Inside their head:  a black shadow?

Ghost of you to haunt and roam?

Bring terror and lasting woe?

In dreams you haunt. It’s hard to sleep.

I know you are not there, but still…

It’s so real, can’t help but weep,

When you go hunting to kill.

Oh, how many years of running,

From your ghost at midnights’ hour?

Far too many spent singing,

In my head while I cower.

It’s like you are a part of me,

That I cannot escape or kill.

Which hunts the others in me.

Trying to kill all at will.

Isn’t it enough yet to stop?

You can smile and be glad. You win!

Took my soul and with a chop,

I became your sin,…yes, grin!

Oh, should I hope forgiveness comes?

Is that too much to hope for now?

And take from hearts’ beating-drums,

Your relentless black shadow?

Creak, Thump.  Creak, Thump.

Creak, Thump, and a thud!

I can’t take it anymore….Go!

Go away! Leave my blood!!

Pour fast out of me and go!

I oft’ wonder why you chose me?

Why did you only chose to play,

Your sick sadist game with me?

Will my soul find peace someday?

Why was this my price to pay?

K. Aldaya, 10/11/13

Picture:  Artist Unknown; http://www.planetcalypsoforum.com/gallery/files/1/5/9/6/0/jase_dark_basement.jpg

2 thoughts on “253. Why?

  1. Nice piece…if this poem reflects reality which I assume it does..then I would not feel singled out by this person. You had no price to pay…some people are opportunist…. they see they can exploit something or someone so they strike simply because it exists.. nothing more nothing less. If you not you then someone else…take care my dear.

    • Thank you, and I agree. It’s possible there was no deeper motive at all….That it was simply random, yet I still can’t help but wonder what goes on in the head of a victimizer when looking for their victim. Some pick at random or pick the most convenient/easy targets, while others pick only certain types as targets. I know I’ll never know or be able to understand the mind of my victimizer but there is a part of me that can’t help but wonder and ponder on these thoughts regardless. It’s my curse that I think too much…I wish I could stop my mind but unfortunately there’s no off switch. Thanks again and all the best to you.

Leave a Reply

